Speeding and traffic violation in the USA is a serious matter, it can even take you to jail. Whether you are native American or a foreigner, you have to abide by its laws without excuse. In this articles, we are going to discuss the cost of speeding and traffic violation in several states of the USA. Moreover, we will also discuss various aspects of the type of traffic violation, its consequences and even on your legal rights. The penalty may increase if you are speeding in a construction area or near a school. The severity of breaking speed limit also depends on states such as you are more likely to get a ticket for speeding in Florida than in Montana. Still, it’s best to avoid a ticket by driving within the speed limit, wear a seatbelt and stick to your lane.
The States With The Highest Speeding Ticket Value
Here are some of the states with the highest speeding ticket value.
- Virginia – The state is famous for its strict laws on speeding, where you may even end up in jail if your drive recklessly. Driving at 80 mph in the state will incur you a $2500 in fine and probably a 1 year in prison.
- New Jersey – The maximum speeding ticket in New Jersey is $420 but if you drive 10 mph over the limit, it will be classified as racing and the fine is doubled. The state also has the most speed traps and collects over $30,000 per mile in fees.
- Georgia – The state has the maximum first speeding penalty of $1000. If you try to be funny without cooperation, you may end up in jail.
- Nevada – Nevada has the maximum penalty of $1000 for first-time speeders. And the jail time is 6 months.
- North Carolina – The state has a speeding ticket of $1000 for first-time speeders and the jail time is up to 2 months.
- California – The maximum speeding fine is $600 but it will incur other charges and your insurance with go up like crazy.
- New York – The maximum penalty for speeding in NYC is $600 and the jail time is up to 30 days if you go 30 mph over the limit. Moreover, for each mph over the limit will cost $10 along with the minimum $100 fine. Speeding the tunnel will get you a ticket of $500.
The States With The Lowest Speeding Ticket
Here are some states with the lowest speeding ticket
- North Dakota – Speeding drivers are fined $10 for going 10 mph over the limit. The state also has the lowest speed traps.
- Montana – The state has the fewest speed traps per mil and the speeding ticket fine ranges from $20 to $100
- Colorado – In Colorado, the fine ranges from $36 to $230; however, repeat offenders may get a high speeding ticket.
- Tennessee – In this state, the speeding fine is just $50 but drag racing will get you a $500 ticket and jail time.
- Idaho – Idaho charges between $75 and $140 for speeding. The state also ranks highest in the number of tickets issued.
- Kansas and Maryland – Both states have the highest penalty of $500 for first-time speeders. But speeding in a school zone will make your speeding ticket double.
- Oregon and Indiana – They have a maximum speeding ticket of $600 and $500 respectively, but it doubles for speeding near a school zone and extra charges for speeding near a construction site.
Speeding Ticket Cost Breakdown in California
Speeding ticket is expensive in California even if we consider just the fines. Increase in the cost of insurance also makes it sky high. On the other hand, the best way to avoid high insurance cost is by attending California traffic school.
For the last decade, the cost of fines has increased significantly. Although the base fine has remained the same over the past 20 years, other penalty assessments such as emergency medical services, court assessments increase traffic ticket price. These additional assessments have quadrupled the cost of speeding ticket within the last decade. California generates revenue of $500 million every year on traffic tickets.
If you receive a speeding ticket, your auto insurance rate will go up. It is important on your part to know how your insurance plan is affected by your driving record. You should also check the plan to make sure you are paying the lowest rate.
In California, the base ticket price is added with county penalties and assessments cost which will cost you nearly 7 times more than the base fine.
Base Fine Charges in California
- 1 mph – 15 mph over speed limit – $35 /$70 in double fine zones
- 16 mph – 25 mph over speed limit – $70 /$105 in double fine zones
- Over 26 mph – $100 /$135 in double fine zones
- Over 100 mph – $200
Additional charges on the base fine
- State Surcharge – 20 percent
- Court operations assessment – $40.00
- Conviction Assessment – $35.00
- State penalty assessment) – 100 percent
- Night court assessment – $1.00
Additional Penalty charges on the base fine
- County penalty assessment – $7 for every $10
- DNA Identification fund penalty assessment – $4 for every $10
- State court construction penalty assessment – 50 percent
- Transportation Services fund penalty assessment – $4
- Emergency medical services fund penalty assessment – $2 for every $10
Fine after assessment charges
- A base fine of $35 – $234 after assessment charges
- $70 base fine – $360 after assessment charges
- A base fine of $100 – $480 after assessment charges
Speeding Ticket Cost Breakdown in Arizona
The state of Arizona has got stationary traffic cameras, radar guns, unmarked police cars, and other techniques. When a cop pulls you over for speeding, you will get a fine as well as points on your driving license. The speeding fines differ by city and country; moreover, the first-time speeders will be fined less than drivers who have received multiple speeding tickets.
Police officers follow multiple guidelines to determine the value of the speeding ticket. Driver’s compliance or resistance will also affect the cost of the speeding ticket. Or, the police officer may just employ regular charges formula such as driving 10 mph over the limit will cost your $250 along with $50 for every 5 mph beyond the 10 mph. Driving 20 mph over the limit will cost you $450 and it may also result in suspension of the driver’s license. If the driver is nabbed by stationary traffic cameras, the speeding ticket will be sent via mail which will cost you $165 plus $30 in surcharges.
Speeding Ticket Fees Based on Top 5 Counties
Maricopa, Cochise, Mohave, Pima, Pinal
- 10 – 14 mph above the speed limit – $250
- 15 – 19 mph above the speed limit – $300
- 20+ mph above speed limit – $350 to $450
- Traffic Camera – $165 to $200
Cost of attending Supreme Court approved driving school
- Diversion fee – $100 to $175
- State fee – $24
- State surcharge – $45
- Course fee – approx $40
- Total – approx $207
Traffic violation points
- Speeding: 3 points
- Running a red light or stop sign: 4 points
- Failure to yield: 4 points
Above all, you should be aware of the ‘criminal speeding’ which can put you in jail for 30 days with a fine of $500. Driver speeding over 85 mph is considered as criminal speeding. Exceeding 35 mph near school crossing is also considered as criminal speeding. Driving 20 mph above the posted speed limit in residential and business area will also be considered criminal driving. Along with jail time and fines, the driver may be stripped of its driver’s license.
Speeding Ticket Cost Breakdown in Texas
The ticket price in Texas is determined by the municipality where you receive your ticket or you may have to contact the representative court who will determine your ticket price. Here is an example of how ticket price differs depending on the municipalities:
- 1 – 5 mph over speed limit – $194 in posted zone /$224 in school zone /$239 construction zone
- 6 – 9 mph over speed limit – $204 in posted zone /$244 in school zone /$264 construction zone
- 10 – 14 mph over speed limit – $229 in posted zone /$259 in school zone /$299 construction zone
- 15 – 19 mph over speed limit – $254 in posted zone /$279 in school zone /$384 construction zone
- 20 – 29 mph over speed limit – $279 in posted zone /$304 in school zone /$434 construction zone
- 30+ mph over speed limit – $304 in posted zone /$329 in school zone /$504 construction zone
- Speeding on Posted Limit – $173 for the first 10 miles + $5 per mile
- Speeding on Non-Posted Limit – $173 for the first 10 miles + $5 per mile
- School Zone Speeding – $213 for the first 10 miles + $5 per mile
- Excess speeding – $233
- Failure to control speed – $202
- 1 – 10 mph over limit – $201.10 ($97 base fine)
- 11 – 15 mph over limit – $226.10 ($122 base fine)
- 16 – 20 mph over limit – $251.10 ($147 base fine)
- 20+ mph over limit – $304.10 ($200 base fine)
- 1 – 10 mph over limit (School Zone) – $221.10 ($117 base fine)
- 11 – 15 mph over limit (School Zone) – $246.10 ($142 base fine)
- 16 – 20 mph over limit (School Zone) – $271.10 ($167 base fine)
- 20+ mph over limit (School Zone) – $304.10 ($200 base fine)
- $10 per mile over the speed limit + $107 court cost
- $20 per mile over the speed limit (School Zone) + $107 court cost
- Speed over 94 mph or Unsafe driving – $199.90 + $107.10
Speeding Ticket Cost Breakdown in Florida
- 1 – 5 mph – Decision depends on the police officer
- 6 – 9 mph – Up to $150
- 10 -14 mph – Up to $226
- 15 -19 mph – Up to $276
- 20 -29 mph – Up to $300
- 30+ mph – Up to $376
- 1 – 5 mph – Up to $143
- 6 – 9 mph – Up to $176
- 10 -14 mph – Up to $326
- 15 -19 mph – Up to $426
- 20 -29 mph – Up to $476
- 30+ mph – Up to $588
Points on Record
- 1 – 5 mph – 3
- 6 – 9 mph – 3
- 10 -14 mph – 3
- 15 -19 mph – 4
- 20 -29 mph – 4
- 30+ mph – 4
- If you get 12 points within a year, your license will be suspended for a month
- For 18 points within 18 months, your license will be suspended for 3 months
- If you get 24 points within 3 years, your license will be suspended for 1 year
Speeding Ticket Cost Breakdown in New York
1 – 10 mph over speed limit – $45 – $150
11 – 20 mph over speed limit – $90 – $300
21 – 30 mph over speed limit – $90 – $300
31 – 40 mph over speed limit – $180 – $600
41+ mph over speed limit – $600
1 – 10 mph over speed limit – $300 max
11 – 20 mph over speed limit – $600 max
21 – 30 mph over speed limit – $600 max
31 – 40 mph over speed limit – $1200 max
41+ mph over speed limit – $1200 max
Court Surcharge – $88 -$93
Points on Record
1 – 10 mph over speed limit – 3 points
11 – 20 mph over speed limit – 4 points
21 – 30 mph over speed limit – 6 points
31 – 40 mph over speed limit – 8 points
41+ mph over speed limit – 11 points
Speeding Ticket Cost Breakdown in New Jersey
In Posted Zone
1 – 9 mph over limit – $85
10 – 14 mph over limit – $95
15 – 19 mph over limit – $105
20 – 24 mph over limit – $200
25 – 29 mph over limit – $220
30 – 34 mph over limit – $240
35+ mph over limit – $260
In Construction Zone
1 – 9 mph over limit – $140
10 – 14 mph over limit – $160
15 – 19 mph over limit – $180
20 – 24 mph over limit – $360
25 – 29 mph over limit – $380
30 – 34 mph over limit – $400
35+ mph over limit – $420
Points on Record
1 – 9 mph over limit – 2
10 – 14 mph over limit – 2
15 – 19 mph over limit – 4
20 – 24 mph over limit – 4
25 – 29 mph over limit – 4
30 – 34 mph over limit – 5
35+ mph over limit – 5
If you get more than 6 points in 3 years, the state will issue a surcharge of $150 and an additional $25 for each point. However, if you go a year with no infractions, you will lose 3 points.
What You Should Know About Traffic Violation
Moving Violation Include:
- Driving without seat-belt
- Breaking signals
- Reckless driving
- Driving without a license
- Street racing
- Failure to maintain ACDA
- Crossing over divider
- Not maintaining your lane
- Pay Fines
- Pay additional taxes
- Attend defensive driving school
- Deposit your license
- Get points on your license
These traffic violations come under misdemeanor or infractions but for reckless driving, vehicular homicide, street racing etc is considered a criminal case.
Non-Moving Violation Include:
- Parking in a no-parking zone
- Double parking
- Parking at the handicapped zone
- 72-hour parking
- Parking in front of the driveway
- Parking with an expired meter
- Receive a ticket
- Fight in court
- Higher insurance rates
Emergency situations where the judge may decide to drop fines
- Speeding for medical emergencies such as a passenger is in labor
- Short speeding or taking actions to avoid an accident
- Speeding for a short time to pass another vehicle on a non-divided highway
- Speeding if you are being chased by criminals or running for your life
Conditions for License Suspension
- Driving under influence of alcohol or drugs
- Refusing to take an alcohol test
- Driving without insurance
- Failing to pay a fine
- Failing to appear in court
- Excessive speeding/Reckless driving
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Failing to file a report of an accident
- Failing in maintaining insurance
- Street racing
- Failure to properly secure a child
After license suspension, you will be allowed a hearing which is either tape-recorded or conducted by telephone. The Hearing Officer from the Department of Licensing will review which may take up a few weeks. If the license is suspended, you may appeal the decision to a Superior Court.
Conditions for Jail Time and Community Service
- Driving under influence
- Reckless driving
- Fleeing from the scene of an accident
- Fleeing from police
- Vehicular homicide
01. DUI (Driving Under Influence)
DUI is a special case where a driver may lose their license for some time. Some states make short jail time mandatory for first-time offenders. Some demand drivers to complete a treatment program. Serious traffic offenders for DUI may get a jail sentence.
On top of that many states now demand DUI offenders to install expensive ignition interlock devices. If the system detects alcohol, the engine will not start and may trigger security alarms.
The cost of the DUI is very high! For example in New York, the minimum for first DUI conviction is over $9000. In the state of Illinois, the average DUI cost is over $14,000. In Texas, DUI can cost between $9000 to $24,000.
Furthermore, DUI charges are more expensive for teens between the age of 15 to 19. The total cost of auto insurance due to DUI conviction for a teen will become over $40,000 in 13 years.
02. Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor in some states which includes up to 12 months of jail time. The fine may go up to $3000 apart from the court’s fee and jail time. The reckless driving charges will remain in the driving license for the period of 11 years or more. Along with suspension of license for 6 months you will also get hiked insurance premium.
03. Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Leaving the scene of an accident can result in a driver a jail time for 2 weeks to 2 years. If the accident resulted in physical injury or property damage, they will be charged with a felony. The fine could range from $500 to $1000 along with up to 2 years in jail. The driver’s license will be suspended for a period of time and 8 points will be added to the driving record.
If the driver flees from the scene that involves an individual’s death, the fines will range from $1000 to $5000 with a jail time for up to 10 years. Some states fine up to $70,000 with up to 15 years in prison.
04. Eluding the Police
If you flee after the police have signaled you to pull over, you could face some serious charges. You will be charged with a fine of $500 to $5000 along with jail time up to 12 months. Driver’s license may also be suspended for up to 2 years.
What are Your Constitutional Rights
When you pay a ticket directly, you are essential pleading guilty to a traffic offense. This will amount to a lot of money both as fines, high insurance rates, points on your license or a criminal conviction on your record. If you think you were not breaking any law, you should talk to a lawyer before entering a guilty plea to the offense.
Your rights include:
- The right to ‘due process’ requires the ticketing officer’s testimony which must meet strict legal rules.
- It has to prove that the officer is certified to use the speed measurement device.
- They also have to prove that the device is officially approved and tested.
- They will also have to prove that the officer used the device properly to measure your vehicle’s speed.
- You have the right to a speedy trial, which will demand the State to take your case to trial in a period of time.
- Right to know the nature of the charge filed against you
- Right to know the identity of the person filing that charge.
- Get a copy of the charging instrument
- Speak with an attorney
- The right to trial by jury in some cases
- Have the public defender represent you
Traffic violation and speeding cost can amount to a lot, in the long run, considering all its aspects. It is therefore advisable to always keep your meter checked. If you are not confident, it’s better to take public transportation. Speeding ticket cost and traffic violation cost will vary significantly depending on the state. Along with driving within the limit, the drivers should also be aware of the ‘absolute’ speed limits imposed by many states. This will get you a speeding ticket if cross the speed limit by 1 mph. Furthermore, you should know that the cost of speeding and traffic violation mentioned above is the maximum amount. In reality, you will be charged depending on your driving history, cooperation with police, how fast you were driving and a lot more. If could happen that the police will pull you over and will leave you just with a warning.